In the stillness…

Mother Teresa said, “We need to find God, and he cannot be found in noise and restlessness. God is the friend of silence. See how nature – trees, flowers, grass- grows in silence; see the stars, the moon and the sun, how they move in silence… We need silence to be able to touch souls.
― Mother Teresa

At this moment, in my house, the fan over the stove is roaring. The dehumidifier is so loud I can’t hear anyone anywhere else in my home. It’s just loud! I want to go to my room, close the door, and drown out the noise. However, that’s not realistic. The fan needs to run in the kitchen, and it can be heard in the bedrooms. It’s loud. The dehumidifier is pulling water out of the air because there’s just too much in the air. If I want to connect with God, at this moment in time, I need to do it with the noise. Sometimes, we just have to adapt to the conditions in which we are and find God there.

Lord, I know You’re here in spite of the noise. You’ll just have to talk a little bit louder for me to hear you. I thank you for the noise, for it makes me appreciate the silence even more. I will be still soon. I will contemplate Your goodness, but, now, Lord, if you don’t mind speaking up a bit, I would appreciate it.
Amen.