Washing Windows on a Beautiful Fall Day and the Examen

I have to struggle to reach the top of the windows in my kitchen, but the view is beautiful! Most of the colors are gone now. Most of the trees are bare, but the beauty of the afternoon remains. Unlike many fall days, the sun is warm and bright. There’s a cool breeze in the air, but that’s to be expected this time of year. Actually, it’s a surprise that we don’t already have snow on the ground. I relish the thought of this day.

I’m catching up on neglected chores. Washing windows is one of them. As I clear the films of dirt from each window, I marvel at the glory of God in His creation. I feel God’s Presence near me as I look outside my kitchen. It’s like He’s directing my thought to Him and He is saying, “Look at this. I made it for you. I gave you this day to enjoy and revel in the beauty. Yet, there is so much more waiting for you. Be faithful. Watch. Wait.”

My morning was a busy jumble of chores and errands. Yet, I had gas in car to run these errands. I had money in my wallet to pay for the groceries. I was able to listen to a podcast on my radio. I made a mental note to visit the cemetery tomorrow. I came home to my dog who needed an ear rub very badly. I had to run one last errand without her, and she still loved me when I came home. I had lunch. I worked at catching up. Pixie and took a walk. I felt the cool breeze on my face. I smelled a fire in a fireplace somewhere in the neighborhood. So many blessings! Lord, there just aren’t enough hours in the day to thank You for all of these graces! I will try, but I know it’s not enough.

I will rejoice greatly in the Lord,
My soul will exult in my God;
For He has clothed me with garments of salvation,
He has wrapped me with a robe of righteousness,
As a bridegroom decks himself with a garland,
And as a bride adorns herself with her jewels.
 For as the earth brings forth its sprouts,
And as a garden causes the things sown in it to spring up,
So the Lord God will cause righteousness and praise
To spring up before all the nations.
Isaiah 61: 10-11

Really, I am overwhelmed with the beauty of the Lord in His Creation. He is the great painter and architect of the world. He keeps the stars in motion and the planets aligned. He me grounded. He keeps my breath flowing. My eyes see His beauty. There is none like Him.

Father, Creator, I thank You for Your glory! I thank You for each day of my life. I have gotten old, and I am pleased. Your mercy abounds through out the world. My Heart beats for You for You have blessed me. I praise and thank You. I looked forward to the new day. May Your mercies continue. May Your Joy in us be renewed. Thank You for this beautiful fall day!