Chaos on a Rainy Day

Yes, it was chaos trying to get out of the clinic today. I felt sorry for the valets. They were soaked to the bone, and people were very cranky and crabby as they had to wait for their cars. The lady smoking her e cigarette tried to find a dry spot just inside the clinic only to be asked to smoke her e cig outside. People were blocking each other trying to avoid the rain. There were more snarls than smiles. Very few blessings were spoken. Chaos.

Or, so I thought.

Then I remembered the kind valet who took my groggy daughter to the car in the wheelchair the clinic had provided. He pushed her gently to the car door, unlocked the brakes, and helped her get up and into the car.

As we left the clinic inside, one of the nurses offered to accompany us, to help us navigate the elevators and pharmacy with the wheel chair.

When we went to pay for parking, the valet taking my money smiled at me and wished me a happy day.

So, shining through the chaos, slips of light and kindness shone in our day.

We made it home safely. We didn’t see any accidents on the way home. The rain brought us much needed relief from the heat and dryness.

Sometimes, we just have to look at our days, our lives in ways that remind us, God is there directing us, sometimes challenging us, but always helping us.

“…but he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for power
is made perfect in weakness.” So, I will boast all the more gladly of
my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.”
2 Corinthians 12: 9

Yes, His grace is sufficient for us. Sometimes, we just need to stop and focus for a moment on the goodness in our lives and be grateful.

“Give thanks in all circumstances; for this is the will of God in Christ Jesus for you.”
1 Thesalonians 5:18

Lord, I praise You and adore You! Forgive my lack of gratitude. I ask for the graces I rejected when I was cranky. Help me to see You in everything I do. I forget. I’m sorry.
Amen.