Random Thoughts

JMJ

My neighbor gave me a bundle of lavender today. The lavender was grown in her garden, and the explosion of fragrance brought me closer to heaven than to earth. I preserved the lavender by dehydrating it and storing it in a mason jar for the days when I need to be drawn closer to heaven and less attached to earth.

There are days, like today, when I wish I could fly, leaving the boundaries of earth behind me. If I had a bucket list, I’d add this to that list: I want to blast into space, flying so high, that if God had His Hand ready to grasp, I could place my hand in His. Since I don’t have a bucket list, I have to offer this thought to God as a prayer request.
Perhaps, He this would be His Will. Perhaps not. Either way, I submit to His Will, and I praise God for His Goodness.

Last week, I was publicly insulted 3 times in one day. Oh, yes, I was not taking the words of three different people incorrectly, I was insulted in front of other people. It was an interesting day. I was hurt by the comments, but my guardian angel was working hard to remind me that: 1) I had to forgive and 2) I had to bite my tongue rather than reply in anger. I was tempted to respond, but my dear angel must have put a spiritual hand over my mouth to keep me quiet.

I have a very hard time forgiving. I tend to carry a grudge, and I get angry quickly. These are faults that I am working to improve. I have realized that I cannot do this alone. (Believe me, I have tried.) I have to humbly submit myself to God with thanksgiving in my heart and ask for His help. I also have to praise Him for His gift to me.

I have prayed for the people who hurt me, but I’m not sure I meant what I said. Think of the saying, “Fake it ‘till you make it.” I am trying. Forgiveness is hard. Even if I fake it, it’s going to take a while to make it. Ok, I’m in it for the long haul, anyway. I guess God is shaping me into the person He wants me to become. I just have to let go and let Him do His work.

I thought this would be a shorter post, but it’s much longer than I thought it would be. I’m working on a new box based sculpture. The paint should have dried by now, so I’m off. God is good.

God bless you!

 

