Some Days…Thoughts on Being a Catholic in a Secular World or Saints and Sinners

There are days you can do it, and days that you can’t. I personally think I should become a hermit, perhaps, then, I could lead a life of holiness and good example for the secular world because when I fall, I don’t just fall, I implode and explode at the same time. At times like these, I am thankful that to become a saint, you don’t have to be perfect, but you do have to love God above all else; love yourself as God loves you; and love your neighbor as yourself.

To repeat:
1) God has to be first in your life.
2) You have to love yourself as with the love of God. You can’t love yourself in a selfish way, but you must love yourself as God does. You must see yourself as God sees you, His Beautiful Creation whom He loves without condition.
3) You must love your neighbor as yourself, as God loves your neighbor.

“The only difference between the saint and the sinner is that every saint has a past, and every sinner has a future.”
Oscar Wilde

Can you imagine St. Peter when he expressed his humanity to Jesus? Peter thought he had it all figured out. He told Jesus that He would not let Jesus wash His feet, but when Jesus replied that in order for Peter to remain His apostle, Jesus must wash Peter’s feet. Peter replied that Jesus should not only wash his feet, but his head and hands, as well. Jesus loved Peter, and, if the situation had not been so sacred and sad, I’m sure He would have laughed out loud. Peter makes me feel good, because, when I fall, I fall and hit the ground hard, but the wonderful thing is that Jesus is always there to pick me up and dust me off. I look forward to my Saturday confession.

St. Peter had a past, with God, and he became a saint. His future was in Jesus, the Son of God.

The woman caught in adultery was taken to Jesus for condemnation. Instead, Jesus told her to sin no more. He forgave her, and she was changed. The men who sought her life for her sin, left. Jesus didn’t say anything to them. They had their pasts, but they chose not to change. The unnamed woman had her past, but she chose to change and her past was left behind. She became a new woman. She was forgiven. The angels rejoiced that day.

As the number of His followers grew, Jesus challenged them to become more holy, to give up their possessions and follow Him without question. Many of them left and went home that day. Jesus asked His apostles, “Will you also go with them?” Peter, in a moment of inspiration and salvation replied, “Where would we go, Lord? You have the words of eternal life!” Jesus must have smiled that day. He knew Peter was inspired by the Father. Peter’s past, although it would crop up again, melded with his present. He grew in his journey to sainthood.

We are all sinners. We can become saints. Our pasts can be left behind in the sanctity of the confessional. God forgives our sins through the priest who blesses us when we repent. Saints. Sinners. Catholic. Implode. Explode. Fall. I’m all of these, but I do know that God has picked me up again. He will not let me be left behind. He loves me. It’s that simple. He loves me! I have a future.

 

 

 

