To Restore and Refresh

I’ve watched her many times. Pixie’s high maintenance, but she calms down with sleep. As I write this, I am thinking about a nap. It’s only 9:30 in the morning. I decided that Mass was a priority today, so when my alarm rang this morning, I got up rather than turn it off and go back to sleep.

I love taking naps! A nap that lasts 20 minutes to an hour refreshes me and gives me energy for the rest of the day. Since there’s a lot to do today, I think it’s important to rest before I start my tasks.

When God created mankind, He wired our brains so that sleep is necessary to our well being. Without sleep, our brains do not function well. We make mistakes. We might fall asleep on the job. We might cause an accident when driving if we do not have enough sleep. Remember, God stressed the importance of rest when, after creating the world in six days, on the seventh day, He rested.

Today is Friday, the end of the work week. Before I retired, I’d reserve Saturday for housecleaning and Sunday for Mass and relaxing. It’s not necessarily the pattern I continue now, but sometimes I do. On Sunday’s, I look at my spiritual life and compare my Monday soul to my Sunday soul and see how far I’ve come, or not. Sunday’s have become a day of restoration for my soul. Though I try during the week, I don’t necessarily pray the way I should or give honor and glory to God. Sunday, I take the time. Then, I rest. I find that I am restored, even after a bad week spiritually.

Spiritually, rest is important, too. We need to restore our souls. One of the easiest ways that I know of is prayer. Mental prayer helps me to achieve a balance that helps my soul rest. Praying the rosary and meditating on the mysteries puts me into the life of Jesus and Mary and reminds me what a loving God we have. Praying the psalms or gospels by reading them quietly and writing my thoughts on paper restore my soul. Imagining the stories of the bible enfold in my brain take me away from where I am into ancient parts of the world. The graces of God flow into me as I pray.

As important as rest is for our bodies and brains, rest is important for our souls. Stress attacks us both physically and spiritually and wears us out. We need to escape that trap and open ourselves up to the Holy Spirit as we rest. Open yourself up to God for love and healing, and He will. He will restore you and refresh your body and soul.

Lord God, Divine Healer, I open myself to Your love and healing. Restore my soul. Refresh my body. I am Yours. Thank You!
Amen.

 

 

