Offer it Up

Do you remember that phrase from ages ago? You’d fall down and skin your knee and someone would say, “Offer it up.” You’d have to eat, oh. my. goodness!, gag, “beets” or “liver,” and even though you would fall on the floor gagging dramatically, you’d be told to get up off that floor, sit at the table, eat what you were given and “offer it up.” Maybe when , your favorite TV show was not on TV that night and something else was on, and you disappointed, you were told to “offer it up.” We don’t hear much about “offering it up” in this day and age, but the power of redemptive suffering is still as strong today as it was when I was a kid.

What is redemptive suffering? I have struggled with this answer, and I’m not sure I will be giving you the correct answer, so if I do not clarify the term for you, please correct me. I understand it, but expressing the answer is a problem for me.

When we offer our sufferings, and, even our good deeds to God, we join our sufferings to those of Jesus, and we can help save souls. We can also offer up our sufferings for a special intention or for the souls in Purgatory.

After we offer it up, Jesus takes our sufferings, joined with His, and presents them to His Father at the Altar of Salvation. The Father then dispenses the graces earned by these sufferings to us.

While suffering might not seem like a winning proposition, we can accomplish things with us. Not many people enjoy suffering. I know I don’t, but, I do offer it up. When I know I am beginning a journey of suffering, such as when I broke my leg, I immediately “offer it up” in its entirety, from start to finish, so that I don’t forget to offer all of what happens up to the Lord.

We’ll probably never know, until we get to heaven, what our sufferings have accomplished, how many souls we helped to save, how many souls were released from Purgatory, but “offering up our pain and sorrows” brings us into a closer communion with God. If we begin our day with a simple prayer that offers up our day to God, we can take consolation in the sorrows and pain we feel. We can also take consolation in the joys of our day knowing that they, too, will find their way to the Father.

This short and simple prayer is an easy way to get your day started.
There are other versions of the Morning Offering, but I like this one.

O My Jesus,
through the Immaculate Heart of Mary, I offer You all of my prayers, works, joys and sufferings, of this day, in union with all of the Masses said throughout the world, for all the intentions of Your Sacred Heart
in reparation for my sins, for the intentions of all my relatives and friends, and in particular for the intentions of the Holy Father. Amen.

Isn’t that easy? Copy and paste this into your phone, your tablet, or computer. Print it out and carry it with you. Say it fervently. As you pray these words, picture the Father smiling at you. He is. He is pleased. He loves you.

4 thoughts on “Offer it Up

  1. Love this 🙂 I need to pray this prayer again – I think we prayed it in school long ago! And I do remember the phrase – we need to bring it back! I will share this on my Facebook page this weekend 🙂

    Like

  2. I think you got it right. Until a few years ago, I had not known what it meant. Now I offer up almost every pain or discomfort. It’s really a great Catholic tradition. I usually don’t give an intention for it. I just let Jesus decide where to best use my suffering.

    Very nice post. God bless.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. You’re right, Manny, it is a great Catholic tradition! The sad part is that it’s not remembered much anymore. Thanks for commenting.

    Like

Comments are closed.