Fig Spread on my Toast and Mental Prayer

The bread was toasted and buttered. The fig spread slid evenly over the warm toast. The bread was poised in my hand to be guided into my mouth. I forgot. I needed to pray.

“Bless us, Oh Lord, and these Thy gifts, which we are about to receive from Thy bounty, through Christ, Our Lord. Amen.”

The toast was blessed. I closed my mind to imagine that Jesus was with me now. In my mind, I saw Him sitting across the table.
He smiled with a love that could fill the earth with joy.

“For my thoughts are not your thoughts,
    nor are your ways my ways, says the Lord.
 For as the heavens are higher than the earth,
    so are my ways higher than your ways
    and my thoughts than your thoughts.”
Isaiah 55: 8-9

He said to me.

What do you mean, Lord, I asked?

“Look to your day already,” He said.

“I don’t understand.”

“You’ve been very worried about things,” and He smiled at me.

“Yes, I have.”

“Why are you worried?”

“I’m afraid. I don’t like the outcome I see coming.”

“Do you trust Me?”

“I don’t know.”

“Trust Me. I love you. Isaiah understood.”

“I’m weak, Lord. What am I supposed to do?”

“Be Still and Know that I AM God.”
Psalm 46:10

“Your world is noisy. Be quiet, and you’ll hear Me. I AM God.
I work miracles. Let me take over, even if you don’t understand.”

“It’s hard to let go, Lord.”

“Paul learned to trust Me.”

“My grace is sufficient for you, for power is made perfect in weakness.” So, I will boast all the more gladly of my weaknesses, so that the power of Christ may dwell in me.”
2 Corinthians 12: 9

“Lord, I’m not Paul.”

“No, but you have a job to do. Your worry is not helping you do your job. Trust Me. I healed the blind and the lepers. I died for you on the cross. I rose from the dead so that you might be saved. Isn’t that enough for you to Trust Me?”

“Yes, Lord, it is. I only wish that I could see things Your way. It would be easier.”

“I know, but you must have struggles to come closer to Me. I love you. There is no one else like you. Please, trust Me.”

“I’ll try, Lord.”

He smiled at me again. My mind turned to the toast and fig spread.

“Thank You, Lord. It’s delicious. I hope I don’t fall today, but I probably will. I offer everything to You. Use it. Use me as you see fit. Amen.”

 

