Pray for the Souls in Purgatory. Pray for those who will die today. Pray for a Holy Death for all.

Padre Pio used to pray for the grace of a holy death for his grandparents after they had died! Did you know that you can pray for those who have died and pray that their deaths be holy? I didn’t realize that until I read this story about Padre Pio. I think, now, of David Bowe. Did you pray for him to have a holy death? I didn’t, but that taught me a lesson. Not only do we need to pray for those who have died and are in Purgatory, but we need to pray for those who will die today. We also need to pray for those who have died so that they will have a holy death.

Life is short and precious. We don’t know when we will breathe our last. I find great comfort in knowing that even if I die today, someone, somewhere is praying for me even if my name is not spoken in the prayer.

Of course, I made my own choices, to sin or not to sin. I feel I did my best. When I face my judgment at the Throne of God, I hope that I will be judged worthy of salvation.

One of the saddest obituaries I have read was that of someone I knew over twenty years ago. She was not happy in her life. Her obituary was one line.

“************ died on May 24, 2009.” That was all the obituary said. There were no comments about her family, and when I knew her, she did. There were no comments about being preceded in death by loved ones. There was no comment about a funeral or memorial service. Her obituary simply stated that she had died. That. was. it.

Now, I need to pray that she was given the gift of a holy death. My guess is that she was estranged from her daughter and husband. I don’t know, but there was no mention of loved ones. Her husband died last year. His obituary was long and written by a loving child. Now, I pray that she was given the grace of a holy death. I pray that if she is still in Purgatory, that she be released soon. If she is in heaven, I give thanks to God.

Prayer for the dead and dying is a necessity. We don’t know how many souls are saved because of prayers for the dead. There is no time in eternity. There is only God who has told us,

“I AM WHO AM”
Exodus 3:14

“Eternal Father, I offer you the most precious Blood, of your Divine Son, Jesus. In union with all of the Masses said throughout the world, in reparation for sins, for the Holy Souls in Purgatory, for sinners everywhere, for sinners in the universal church, those within our own home and within my family. Amen.”
St. Gertrude prayer said to release 1000 souls from Purgatory each time it is prayed.

