Not Just Words

When I attend Mass, I prepare for Mass by writing random thoughts in my notebook. I use the same notebook for notes on homilies and notes on the readings. This is one of the ways in which I pray. My prayers are often written.

Today, as I prepared for Mass, the words that formed in my mind before Mass were “not just words.” I thought about this, then I realized that I had to recognize that the words of the Mass were not just words, but were sacred to the liturgy and permeated with meaning. They were not just words that were said, they had meaning beyond our comprehension making them sacred. For example, when the priest says,

“Behold the Lamb of God,” and he holds the host up for us to adore,
we are truly looking at the Lamb of God. These are not just words. In the host is the body, blood, soul and divinity of Jesys. They are sacred to the liturgy, and they are words of truth to us.

When we say, “Lord, Have Mercy. Christ, Have Mercy. Lord, Have Mercy,” we are preparing to enter into the mystery of the Mass by begging God for forgiveness for our sins. They are not just words, but they are words that affirm the sacrament of reconciliation, the gift of forgiveness that Jesus gave to the apostles as a sacrament of His Mercy.

Kyrie eleison. (Lord, have mercy.)
Christe elieson. (Christ, have mercy.)
Kyrie eleison. (Lord, have mercy.)

We begin the Mass with the sign of the cross. We begin our worship by invoking God and asking Him to allow us to enter into prayer to Him through the gift of the Trinity.

In the name of the Father and of the Son and of the Holy Spirit. Amen.

Amen, a Sacred word that means “So be it.”

Amen.

Do you listen to the words of the liturgy, of our worship of God? Remembering that these words of worship are not just words helped me tonight. Each word has meaning. Each word is sacred to the liturgy.

Praise God from Whom All Blessings flow.

