At the end of the day…

I’m still Catholic. I’ve lived through many Popes and changes. Most of the changes, I embraced, and I don’t regret the accepting the changes. The doctrines of the Church are still in tact, as they should be. This is the Church established by Jesus, our Lord and Savior. His Church is not, nor has it been, ruined by the changes. I have even returned to some of the older traditions, such as veiling and receiving the Sacred Eucharist on my tongue.

Veiling began after a year of repeated whisperings in my soul to begin to veil again. I chose to begin veiling during our last Lenten season. I wanted to find ways to become closer to God. I don’t veil for reasons of modesty. I veil as a way to show respect for the sacredness of the Mass and the Eucharist. I veil to show my reverence for God, but just because I veil does not mean others need to do so. For me, veiling was a very personal choice. If a woman chooses to veil, I accept that. If a woman choose not to veil, I accept that, too. The veil does not make a woman more Catholic or more holy than a woman who does not veil.

Shortly after I began to veil, I realized that I would also need to forgo the reception of the Eucharist in my hand. For me, the conseccrated hands of the priest should be the one to distribute the Eucharist. On Sundays, I am able to kneel since a kneeler is put out in front of the aisle so that those who choose to do so can receive from the priest and kneel. That is an option. That is my choice.

I don’t like to say “Never,” since “never” is so final, but I don’t think I will ever be able to embrace the Latin Mass. There are those who feel that the Latin Mas is the only Mass that should be celebrated. If that’s how you feel, that’s fine. I accept it. If you don’t like how I feel, I guess, in truth, I don’t care. I really don’t. As far as I’m concerned, if the Latin Mass brings you closer to God, I rejoice with you! This is God’s grace to you, and I rejoice for you!

I look at our beloved Pontiff, and I understand why it is so important to pray for him daily. I read what others have written about him, and I am appalled that anyone could treat our beloved Pontiff, or any other human being, in such a disrespectful way. There are those who call him the anti-christ, a false pope, a blasphemer, and the one who will lead our church to its mortal destruction. There are many other names and false accusations made about Pope Francis. I can only reiterate that we must pray for him and all of our priests daily. satan seeks the ruin of our Church, and he often uses those who feel that they are well meaning defenders of the faith to try to create problems in our Church.

Yet, we are all Catholics and we are all sinners. The gift of the Sacrament of Reconciliation is the greatest source of grace for me. Of course, all the Sacraments have special graces attached to them. For me, the Sacrament of Confession brings me the most peace. While it is true that you must confess your sins to a priest, another human being, and this is a humbling experience, this sacrament has made me aware of my shortcomings and strengths. This sacrament gives me peace when I am separated from God because of my sins and the many great offenses I have committed against the Sacred Heart of Jesus.

I know that there are those who will read this blog and focus on one or two topics. They forget about the gift of mercy, which they seek, too. For some Catholics, there is only their way to seek God and grow in His graces, and that is their way. Yet, as Catholics, we must adhere to the magisterium of the Church. We must be faithful to our Pontiff.

We must also follow the two greatest Commandments: 1) Love God above all; 2) Love others as you would love yourself. This is where we must be disciplined in the faith. We must be willing to love the unlovable, or those we feel are unlovable. We must be willing to sacrifice ourselves for the causes of the church such as the precious gift of life. We must stand firm against abotion and be firm in the truth that life begins at conception and ends with natural death. The world hates us for this.

The world doesn’t like Christianity, but the world hates Catholicism. In spite of this, at the end of the day, I am still Catholic. God help me, it’s not easy, but this is my faith, and I cherish it. I thank God for it. If you disagree with me, or if you don’t like me, I don’t care. I honestly don’t care. I do pray that we will all be strong in the faith, and when we are tested, I pray that we will all be faithful to Our Church because being Catholic does not just mean attending a particular church in a particular faith. Being Catholic is a way of life. This is what Jesus intended. Whether we agree with each other or not, we are all children of God. Our home is heaven, but we have to work to get there. Let us pray for our Catholic Church, our duly elected Pope Francis, all of our priests, and each other.

 

 

