Prepare the Way of the Lord!

I’m on the computer writing. Usually, I work in silence, but today, I decided that I wanted to hear Christmas music as I wrote. I love the hymns and music of the season. “Wait!” I hear someone cry. “Are you crazy? Thanksgiving isn’t here yet! Why are you listening to Christmas music now?”

That’s a good question. Today, I am getting ready for Christmas mentally, physically, and emotionally. I am remembering Christmases past. I remember the joy and the sorrows of the celebration. Yes, there were sorrows after the death of my husband. So, I remember on these levels. However, I have not begun to prepare spiritually for the coming of the Messiah. Right now, I am thinking about the celebrations, the gatherings, the gifts, the food. I need to do this, too. Spiritually, I am still in Ordinary Time.

Like Mary, the Tabernacle of the Divine, carrying her Blessed Son in her womb until His birth, I must begin to prepare for His Coming. He Who is our Salvation, the fulfillment of the Prophets, will be remembered, by us, beginning November 29, this year. Advent begins on that day. The music at Mass will speak of the prophets of old and their words given to them by God regarding His Divine Son. The readings will be more somber The vestments of the priest will be purple. The tone of the Mass will be one of anticipation in a world covered with darkness.

I have to ask myself, “What am I anticipating during Advent?” Am I thinking of the Christmas Cards that are not being sent this year or the ones being sent? Am I thinking of the food for the season? Am I thinking about my diet, and what I will be eating? There are so many things we need to do in order to prepare for the “holidaze.” Will Advent only be a time of preparation for the events of Christmas?

The answer to that question depends on two choices. Will I only prepare for Christmas, or will I, also, prepare for the coming of the Messiah? I’m not saying that we should not prepare for Christmas. We should because the day can be a great family day. These preparations need to be accomplished as completely as possible. Gifts, dinner, food, where, you know what I mean. They are important to settle. However, if we have to choose betweent attending to our souls or the “things” of Christmas, we need to remember that Christmas is a day in time. Eternity is forever.

If my home is ready for Christmas, but I do not welcome the Messiah in my heart, what have I accomplished? What example have I set? Eternity does not end, and we will all die one day. Our home is in eternity. We need to prepare.

You’ve heard the sayings: “The Reason for the Season,” and “Put Christ back in Christmas.” These words of wisdom, trite now that we’ve heard them so frequently, still remind us what Christmas is really all about. Somehow, our society managed to loose the meaning. We truly live in darkness. However, Jesus is the Light of the World. He comes to break us out of the darkness and move us into the light. He, who is the Light of Heaven, comes as a humble babe, born in poverty to a carpenter and his wife.

“Lord, help me to prepare for Your Coming. I am busy. I am overwhelmed by the season. Help me to lay aside time, each day, to communicate with You. I want to go to heaven when I die. I cannot do this without Your help. Lord, Jesus, Son of the Living God, have mercy on me a sinner. Lead me in Your Paths.” Amen.

