Praying for our children

From the moment we realize a baby is growing in our body, and all through that child’s life, we need to pray for our little ones. Even as adults, our children continue to need our prayers. Praying fervently for them doesn’t always mean they will always make the best choices in life.

St. Monica prayed for her son for 30 years. He embraced many of the popular heresies of the day with no repentance. Augustine lived with a woman outside of marriage, and, together, they had a child. St. Monica refused to give up. She prayed persistently. Eventually, St. Augustine became Catholic and one of the greatest saints in our Church. He is, also, a Doctor of the Church.

As parents, we need to be persistent in our prayers for our children.
No, not all of them will become cannonized saints or doctors of the Church, but they can all become saints. You don’t have to be canonized to be a saint. When you enter heaven, you will be a saint. This should be our prayer goal for our children.  
Lord, make them saints!

Of course, they will have other needs in their lifetime, and, of course, these are also things for which we must pray. Our children are blessings. As parents, we cannot pray too much for these souls with which we were entrusted.

When you pray for your children, begin with a prayer of thanksgiving to God for them. There are days when they can try your patience, and you might not feel inclined to thank God, but, please begin with a prayer of thanksgiving to God for these lives.

Lord, I praise You for the gift of my children.

Trust that God always hears your prayers, even though He might not answer them in the way you would like for Him to answer them.

I trust in You.

Submit to God’s Holy Will for your children remembering that your will and God’s Will might not be the same. Submit and accept.

Lord, I give You my children. You know better than I what they need. I trust in You!

Ask that God bless your children each time you pray. Ask, again, that your children become saints.

Lord, please bless my children. Pour down your graces upon them so that, one day, they will be great saints in heaven.

Ask for the graces to become a good parent foryour children so that you can be the example they need to achieve holiness.

Help me, Lord, to be the best parent I can be to these children of mine. Help me to set the example they will need to gain holiness.

End with praise and thanksgiving.

Lord, I praise and bless You! I thank You for entrusting these delicate souls to my care!

End with a rousing AMEN. (Amen means “So be it.”

Amen.

Here’s the prayer in its entirety.

Lord, make them saints!
Lord, I praise You for the gift of my children.
I trust in You.
Lord, I give You my children. You know better than I what they need. I trust in You!
Lord, please bless my children. Pour down your graces upon them so that, one day, they will be great saints in heaven.
Help me, Lord, to be the best parent I can be to these children of mine. Help me to set the example they will need to gain holiness.
Lord, I praise and bless You! I thank You for entrusting these delicate souls to my care!
Amen.

Pray often for your children. In our world, they need that spiritual support. The family has been under attack for years. Pray! Pray! Pray!

