10 Interesting Facts and Prayers about Purgatory and the souls who are there

1.The fire of Purgatory is the same as the fire of Hell; the difference between them is that the fire of Purgatory is not everlasting.
St. John Vianney

2.Catechism of the Catholic Church 1032: “From the beginning, the Church has honored the memory of the dead and offered prayers in suffrage for them, above all the Eucharistic sacrifice, so that, thus purified, they may attain the beatific vision of God.”

3. From the Diary of St. Faustina of the Divine Mercy:
[The next night] I saw my Guardian Angel, who ordered me to follow him. In a moment I was in a misty place full of fire in which there was a great crowd of suffering souls. They were praying fervently, but to no
avail, for themselves; only we can come to their aid. The flames which
were burning them did not touch me at all. My Guardian Angel did not
leave me for an instant. I asked these souls what their greatest
suffering was. They answered me in one voice that their greatest torment was longing for God. I saw Our Lady visiting the souls in PURGATORY. The souls call her “The Star of the Sea.” She brings them refreshment. I wanted to talk with them some more, but my Guardian Angel beckoned me to leave. We went out of that prison of suffering. [I heard an interior voice] which said, My mercy does not want this, but justice demands it. Since that time, I am in closer communion with the suffering souls. (Diary, 20)

4.The Catechism of the Catholic Church defines purgatory as a
“purification, so as to achieve the holiness necessary to enter the joy
of heaven,” which is experienced by those “who die in God’s grace and friendship, but still imperfectly purified” (CCC 1030). It notes that
“this final purification of the elect . . . is entirely different from
the punishment of the damned” (CCC 1031). 

5.The devotion to the memory of the dead is one of the most beautiful expressions of the Catholic spirit.”
Saint John XXIII

6. The prayer of St. Gertrude the Great will release 1,000 souls every time it is prayed.

Eternal Father, I offer You the Most Precious Blood of Your Divine Son, Jesus, in union with all of the Masses said throughout the world today, in reparation for sins, for the Holy Souls in Purgatory, for sinners everywhere, for sinners in the Universal Church, those within my own home and within my family. Amen.

7. The earliest Biblical reference to Purgatory is this:
Hethen took up a collection among all his soldiers, amounting to two
thousand silver drachmas, which he sent to Jerusalem to provide for an expiatory sacrifice. In doing this he acted in a very excellent and
noble way, inasmuch as he had the resurrection in mind;  for if he were not expecting the fallen to rise again, it would have been superfluous and foolish to pray for the dead.  But if he did this with a view to the splendid reward that awaits those who had gone to rest in godliness, it was a holy and pious thought. Thus he made atonement for the dead that they might be absolved from their sin.
2Maccabees 12: 43-46

8. Nov. 1-8 you can receive a plenary indulgence when you visit a cemetery on those days and apply it to a soul in purgatory.

9. Next to the Mass, the most effective prayer for the souls in Purgatory is the Rosary.

10. When you visit a cemetery, pray for the souls who are buried there, especially, those who have no one to pray for them. Sprinkle holy water on the graves. Pray the Chaplet of the Divine Mercy for the souls.

 

 

