The Rock

I found this rock when Pixie and I were walking. Why it caught my eye, I don’t know, but on the first pass, I ignored it. On the second pass, I reached down and put this treasure in my hand.

When I picked up the rock, it was rough and uneven, but surprisingly, it fit into my hand, perfectly. I even changed the end of the rock. One end is somewhat pointed. One end is rounder and dull. The rock looks like it was hand carved to fit a hand. I was amazed at that.
I’ve kept this rock around me. I wonder about it.

Was it carved by an ancient hand as a tool? If so, what did this person use it for? Was there a woman who used this tool to mash the grain for her family or to tenderize the meat gathered by the ancient hunters? Was it used by a hunter to carve an arrow head? What is the story behind this rock?

Although, I’d love to know the story of this rock, I’ll never know. As I thought about the rock, I found myself meditating on the “First Rock” of our Church, St. Peter. Jesus changed Simon’s name to Peter. In Greek, Peter means Rock.

“And so I say to you, you are Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church, and the gates of the netherworld shall not prevail against it.”
Matthew 16:18

Peter was certainly not a big, solid rock. In my mind, he was so impulsive, and he thought in terms of the human mind, and not in terms of God. Look at the pictures of my rock. Not even, rather rough in places, and I see Peter. Through Peter has come a succession of Popes that has brought us to Pope Francis. Pope Francis’ tour of the United States. He is our Rock in the line of Peter’s succession.

During his tour of the United States, he has received criticism from the left, from the right and from the middle. He has been criticized for his lack of political understanding, for playing politics, for not stating the values of the Catholic Church regarding abortion and marriage. Ironically, he has been criticized for being Pro Life by Planned Parenthood.

If I were Pope Francis, I’d be delighted that I were going home today. No, I think I’d be ecstatic! Like all of us, Pope Francis is not perfect, but he is the Vicar of Christ on earth. He is the leader of the Catholic Church who challenges us to change our behavior and become more like Christ on earth. No, we don’t feel comfortable with a lot of the things he says, but that’s not bad. No, we don’t always understand the context of what he says, but he does challenge us as Jesus challenged the people of His time.

Again, Pope Franics asks us to pray for him, and not to forget to pray for him.

Viva Pope Francis! Farewell! May the angels guide you home. Thank you for visiting us and challenging us to new levels of holiness. You are in our thoughts and prayers!

 

