I am Amazed

I am both amazed and appalled that disagreement can bring out the worst in people, other children of God, when the person with whom you disagree cannot be seen. I don’t mind disagreement, and I love discussion! However, when there are no filters because the person on the other side of the screen cannot be seen, we forget they are human beings. We forget that what we say to them in writing is nothing we’d say to a person standing next to us. We forget that God loves that person as much as He loves the right fighter.

I’ve seen this happen in forums in the art community. I’ve seen it happen in the culinary community. Now, I’ve seen it in the Catholic Community, and I am appalled. There are those who, no matter what, have to be right. They will veil their ideas with passive agressive insults. They will insult to make a point. They will attack. They have to be right at all costs.

I feel sorry for these people. If an individual cannot disagree without becoming rude, there’s something wrong. The writer has their right to their opinions, whether or not you agree with them. Good discussion promotes tolerance. Right fighters do not.

Our souls do matter. Pride and anger are sins. There are spiritual directors who can help identify the problems of the soul. With their help, souls are saved and changed for the better. Perhaps, it’s time to stop and take notice.

In Sacred Scripture, Jesus reminds us what we need to do to achieve heaven. He proclaims these virtues in the Beatitudes. He sought to give them hope.

“Seeing the crowds, he went up on the mountain, and when he sat down his disciples came to him. And he opened his mouth and taught them, saying:
“Blessed are the poor in spirit, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.“Blessed are those who mourn, for they shall be comforted.“Blessed are the meek, for they shall inherit the earth.
“Blessed are those who hunger and thirst for righteousness, for they shall be satisfied.“Blessed are the merciful, for they shall obtain mercy.
“Blessed are the pure in heart, for they shall see God.“Blessed are the peacemakers, for they shall be called sons of God.
 “Blessed are those who are persecuted for righteousness’ sake, for theirs is the kingdom of heaven.“Blessed are you when men revile you and persecute you and utter all kinds of evil against you falsely on my account.  Rejoice and be glad, for your reward is great in heaven, for so men persecuted the prophets who were before you.”
Matthew 5: 1-11

Pope Francis spoke of the “counter witness.” He said, “We all know in our communities, in our parishes, in our neighborhoods how much hurt they do the church, and give scandal, those persons that call themselves ‘Very Catholic,'” the pontiff said Sunday. He continued, “They go often to church, but after, in their daily life, ignore the family, speak ill of others, and so on,” he continued. “This is that which Jesus condemns because this is a Christian ‘counter-witness.'”
Click HERE for the complete article.

We’re all guilty of being a counter witness to the Church. However, the abuse that is flung out publicly, when you cannot see the person to whom you are speaking, is that from which scandal is made. The time has come to stop. It’s that simple.

I remember my mother telling me, and I’m sure you’ve heard this, too,
“If you can’t say something nice about someone, don’t say anything at all.”

The ability to discuss any issue in a rational, mature way is an ability we all have. There are no excuses for immature, irrational behavior in discussion. People will still become angry and over heated, but when you insist that it’s your way or nothing, when you make the discussion personal through name calling, irrate, passive agressive comments or outright attacks on someone you don’t know,

You should be ashamed of yourself!

Enough said.

 

 

 

 

 

 

3 thoughts on “I am Amazed

  1. I don’t see you either. Just because you self identify as a writer does not give you immunity from criticism from the commenting world. You were the one who put yourself out there by denigrating the Mass of Christ that was the Ordinary Form of the Mass for a thousand years. Talk about pride: You ridiculed the Extraordinary Form of the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass. The Mass, that legitimately, along with the Ordinary Form the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass was given to us by God for the salvation of our souls. And you are SHOCKED to find out people are offended. I find that willful blindness.

    Like

  2. Mary, none of what you said is true. Think about it. That is only your opinion. I will not attack as others have. You are right. I put myself out there, but, in the end, I have that right. You disagree with me. Ok. I can live with that. However, those things of which you accuse are only your assumptions and opinions. I ridiculed nothing. I will not ridicule you, either.

    Like

  3. Mary, I have to apologize to you. My reply to you was very unkind. I was reacting rather than thinking before I posted. If you disagree with me, that’s fine, but don’t make assumptions about my motives or writings. You called me prideful and having willful blindness. You also accused me of ridiculing the Extraordinary form of Mass. I did none of those things. This is what I was talking about. When it’s not personal, that’s one thing, but yours was personal. I do ask for your forgiveness in my first response. Thank you.

    Like

Comments are closed.