Prayer is Prayer is Prayer is…Everything is Prayer

Doing the dishes.
Cleaning the bathroom.
Making the bed.
Doing the Laundry.
Feeding the cats.
Walking the dog in the heat of the day, not because you want to do that…
Cleaning the litter box!!!! UGH!!!!!!!!!
Being silent.
Watching TV.
Opening the door for a stranger.
Making cookies for a friend.
Cooking breakfast.
Making a Rosary.
Not complaining.
Being nice to someone who is not nice to you.

Prayer? Yes, these actions can all be prayer if you offer them up for the honor and glory of God. Before your feet touch the floor in the morning, call upon your Creator and offer Him your day. Say “Good Morning, Father, Son and Holy Spirit!” Thank them for the gift of sleep or the gift of insomnia. (Yes, even insomnia is a gift.) Offer up your day to Him. Think of Him as you perform your morning ablutions. Praise Him for the gift of life. Through the day, remember that you are His Child and He is your God. Then, as you do all that you do in a day, it all belongs to Him. Your actions become your prayers. All is a prayer.

You can begin your day with a formal prayer.

O My Jesus,
through the Immaculate Heart of Mary,
I offer You my prayers, works,
joys and sufferings
of this day for all the intentions
of Your Sacred Heart,
in union with the Holy Sacrifice of the Mass
throughout the world,
in reparation for my sins,
for the intentions of all my relatives and friends,
and in particular
for the intentions of the Holy Father.
Amen.

Usually, I say,
“Good Morning, Father, Son, and Holy Spirit. I thank you for this day. I thank you for the gift of sleep. I adore and praise You. I give You my day, the good, the bad, and the ugly. Thank You for loving me. Amen.”

What ever means you use, turn your day into a prayer.

