Where are you when you pray?

I have prayed on a roller coaster that I thought would be the death of me. I have prayed in the village of Medjugorje on Apparation Hill and on Mount Podbrdo where the Mother of God prays at 5 AM each day.
I have prayed on my deck at the break of dawn. I have prayed on a hospital gurney as I lay sick, prepped for surgery. I have prayed in Chicago riding the train. I have prayed in New Mexico at the Santuario de Chimayo. I have prayed in the bathroom. I’m sure your list will be long or longer than mine.

In my opinion, it doesn’t matter where you pray, but, what matter is how you pray. Ask yourself this: When you pray, do you pray with your heart or do you allow distractions to carry you away? Do you find yourself saying the words, but your mind is on the kids, the housework, the company coming for dinner? Do you find yourself daydreaming about a promotion, a future spouse, a perfect world?
Your body is in the right place, where ever that is, but where is your heart and your mind? Are you so distracted in prayer that you don’t know where you began and where you are going with your prayer?

When we speak to God, He gives us 100% of His attention. I don’t know how He does this since He is busy with other parts of the universe such as gravity, the laws of physics, the science of medicine, all of the things that He created. I don’t know how He does it, but God is a loving Father who loves each one of us like no other. When we talk with Him, aka pray, He gives us His 100% attention. The problem is that we don’t return this love. Our minds wander. Distractions pull us away from prayer. We have parents, teachers, children, family members refusing to let us go. They invade our thoughts and hearts, for they “need” 100% of our attention when they want it.

satan doesn’t make it easy for us to pray or talk with God. He jeers at us and tempts us so that we cannot concentrate when we are able to spend precious time with God. So, what’s a person to do who desires to give God 100% of the attention He gives us?

Pray. Ask God for the grace to pray with your heart. Ask God to lift you up past these distractions. He understands that your time with Him might be short, but when you geniunely seek His Presence in prayer, He will grant you that for which you ask. He might challenge you a bit and test you to see if this is your true desire. Don’t worry about it. Stay fast in your prayer. God will answer you and you will pray with your heart, no matter where you are!

