Mother’s Day and the Roads We Travel

Mother’s Daynew road.

That was today.

At Mass, Father asked all the women who were mothers to stand up.

We were given a special blessing for mothers in which we were admonished to

“Let our Love and Faith shine forth”

not only into our families, but the community in which we live.

In the Gospel, Jesus admonished us to

“Remain in My Love” because we did not choose Him,

He had chosen us.

He also admonished us to

“Love one another” as He had loved us because

Love is an action not just words.

Jesus said to keep the two major commandments on which all the Laws were based.

1) Love God First above all else,

and

2) Love our neighbor as we love ourseelves.

Jesus reminded us that love is more than words.

Love is a verb.

Love is Action.

God is Love.

God gave us His only begotten Son so that we might have eternal life.

Love became one of us.

Love died for all of us.

We each travel different roads.  We experience different challenges.  We are always reminded to

“Pick up our crosses daily and follow Jesus.”

To carry our cross is an action.

Love is a verb.

Love is God.

Let us pray.

“Heavenly Father, help me travel the road on which You want me to walk.  Help me to remember that the crosses You give me are important and teach me to love.  Let me learn to love You above all else.  Teach me to love my neighbor  as You love me.   Help me to act in unity with Your Will.  Let my words become actions.  Let my actions be love.  Let my Love for You be the center of my life.  Let me always be Your Child. 

Amen.”

