Amen!

Amen

A simple prayer of agreement when used to answer a prayer.

Amen.

Oh, My Jesus, forgive us our sins.

Save us from the fires of hell.

Lead all souls to heaven,

especially those who are in most need of Thy mercy.

Amen.

By using the word “Amen” at the end of the prayer we affirm that we are in agreement with the prayer.

In Sacred Scripture, Jesus often says,

“Amen. Amen.  I say to you…”

“So Jesus said to them, “Amen, amen, I say to you, it was not Moses who gave the bread from heaven; my Father gives you the true bread from heaven. For the bread of God is that which comes down from heaven and gives life to the world.”

John 6: 32-33

Using the double AMEN serves to emphasize what follows.

These words have been interpreted by biblical scholars to mean,

“truly, truly,”

or

“Most assuredly.”

So much depends on the context of the scriptural event.

Generally speaking,

Amen

means agreement

or an expression of faith.

Then Mary said, “Here am I, the servant of the Lord; let it be with me according to your word.” Then the angel departed from her.

Luke 1:38

Amen, Dearest Mother.  Amen.

